Best Roomba: The 6 iRobot Roomba Models on Amazon Compared

By Ilias · Updated October 10, 2026 · Listings checked on Amazon.com

Affiliate links: if you buy through our links, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect our picks.

In short

The best Roomba for most buyers is the iRobot Roomba 105 Combo + AutoEmpty. The deciding criterion is how much it handles on its own: it pairs ClearView LiDAR mapping with a light mop pad and a bagged dock rated for up to 75 days, and it has the top rating of the lineup, 4.4 out of 5.

Overview: Robot vacuums · Also compare: Vacuum and mop combos

Check priceOur pick: iRobot Roomba 105 Combo + AutoEmpty
AT A GLANCEiRobot Roomba 105 Combo + AutoEmptyNavigation: ClearView LiDARSuctionnot listedRuntimenot listedHeight (lower = better)not listed
Figures from the product listing, recorded on 10/10/2026. Robocompas illustration, not a product photo.
OUR PICK

iRobot Roomba 105 Combo + AutoEmpty

Best for: Budget buyers who want LiDAR mapping, light mopping and a self-emptying dock in one box.

The 105 Combo + AutoEmpty is the most complete Roomba in this lineup: LiDAR, mopping and a 75-day bagged dock, with the highest rating. Its mop is basic and suction has no Pa figure.

  • Empties into a bagged AutoEmpty dock for up to 75 days; the bag traps 99% of allergens as small as 0.7 microns, according to the listing.
  • ClearView LiDAR maps the home, and the robot detects and avoids carpets while mopping.
  • Vac only, mop only or combo modes, with adjustable passes, suction and mopping solution in the app.
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link · price and availability on Amazon

Quick comparison

  1. 1iRobot Roomba 105 Combo + AutoEmptyOur pickCheck price
  2. 2iRobot Roomba 105 VacCheapest way into LiDARCheck price
  3. 3iRobot Roomba 105XLow-light obstacle avoidanceCheck price
  4. 4iRobot Roomba 105 Vac + AutoEmptySelf-emptying, no moppingCheck price
  5. 5iRobot Roomba 105X Combo + AutoEmptyCombo with carpet detectionCheck price
  6. 6iRobot Roomba 104 Combo + AutoEmptyAlternative to the 105 ComboCheck price
ModelBest forSuctionNavigationMoppingDockPrice
iRobot Roomba 105 Combo + AutoEmptyOur pickOur pick–ClearView LiDARMicrofiber mop pad with micro-pumpAutoEmpty dock with bag (up to 75 days)Check price
iRobot Roomba 105 VacCheapest way into LiDAR–ClearView LiDARNone (vacuum only)Charging dock only (recharge and resume)Check price
iRobot Roomba 105XLow-light obstacle avoidance70x power-lifting suction vs Roomba 600 series (no Pa figure)ClearView LiDARNone (vacuum only)–Check price
iRobot Roomba 105 Vac + AutoEmptySelf-emptying, no mopping–ClearView LiDARNone (vacuum only)AutoEmpty dock with bag (up to 75 days)Check price
iRobot Roomba 105X Combo + AutoEmptyCombo with carpet detection70x power-lifting suction vs Roomba 600 series (no Pa figure)ClearView LiDARMicrofiber pad with SmartScrub micro-pumpAutoEmpty dock (no mop washing)Check price
iRobot Roomba 104 Combo + AutoEmptyAlternative to the 105 Combo–ClearView LiDARMicrofiber mop pad with micro-pumpAutoEmpty dock with bag (up to 75 days)Check price

Claimed suction (Pa)

  • iRobot Roomba 105 Combo + AutoEmptynot listed
  • iRobot Roomba 105 Vacnot listed
  • iRobot Roomba 105X70x power-lifting suction vs Roomba 600 series (no Pa figure)
  • iRobot Roomba 105 Vac + AutoEmptynot listed
  • iRobot Roomba 105X Combo + AutoEmpty70x power-lifting suction vs Roomba 600 series (no Pa figure)
  • iRobot Roomba 104 Combo + AutoEmptynot listed
Manufacturer figures from the product listings; the dark bar is our pick. Pa figures only compare fairly between models measured the same way.

Specs taken from the product listings on October 10, 2026. –: not listed by the manufacturer. Coverage and runtime: manufacturer claims, often lower in real homes and yards.

The models in detail

This page is for shoppers who already lean toward a Roomba and want to know which of the current models fits their home. We looked at the six iRobot Roomba listings on Amazon.com checked on October 10, 2026, all from the 104 and 105 families, and sorted them by dock and mopping. It compares what the listings state, model by model; we did not use these robots at home, and it says nothing about the company beyond its products.

1 · Our pick

iRobot Roomba 105 Combo + AutoEmpty

Robot vacuum4,4/5 from 49377 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

Among the six Roombas, this one covers the most ground. Like every model here, it uses ClearView LiDAR, but it also has a microfiber mop pad fed by a micro-pump and an AutoEmpty dock that holds debris in a bag for up to 75 days. iRobot says the bag traps 99% of allergens as small as 0.7 microns. In the Roomba Home app you can run vacuum only, mop only or both, and set passes, suction and mopping solution; SmartScrub is claimed at 2x deeper scrubbing. The robot detects carpet and avoids it while mopping. Compared with the 104 Combo, it looks almost identical on paper, and the box adds 1 extra mop pad. The gaps are shared across the brand: suction is only 70X more power-lifting suction, without a Pa figure, no runtime is listed, the pad does not lift and the dock does not wash it. Its 4.4 out of 5 from 49,377 ratings is the best score of the six.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • Empties into a bagged AutoEmpty dock for up to 75 days; the bag traps 99% of allergens as small as 0.7 microns, according to the listing.
  • ClearView LiDAR maps the home, and the robot detects and avoids carpets while mopping.
  • Vac only, mop only or combo modes, with adjustable passes, suction and mopping solution in the app.
  • SmartScrub adds 2x deeper scrubbing; the box includes 1 extra mop pad.
Cons
  • Dock bags are a consumable to replace.
  • The pad does not lift and the dock does not wash it.
  • Suction is given only as 70X more power-lifting suction, with no Pa figure or runtime.

Best for: Budget buyers who want LiDAR mapping, light mopping and a self-emptying dock in one box.

Skip it if you want a mop that lifts over rugs, a self-washing station or a bagless dock.

Other specs
  • Bag / binBagged dock
  • Connectivity2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Roomba Home app, voice assistants
Check price on Amazon
2 · Cheapest way into LiDAR

iRobot Roomba 105 Vac

Robot vacuum4,2/5 from 31642 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

If you want a Roomba that maps rooms and cleans in rows but you do not need a dock that empties itself, the 105 Vac is the plain version. It shares ClearView LiDAR with the rest of the lineup, steers around obstacles and has cliff sensors for stairs, according to the listing. Its cleaning head pairs a Multi-Surface brush with an Edge-Sweeping brush, and iRobot claims 70X more suction than Roomba 600 series robots. It recharges on its own and resumes where it left off, and spot cleaning repeats one area for up to 5 minutes. The trade-off against the AutoEmpty models is upkeep: the dock only charges it, so you empty the bin by hand. It is vacuum only, even though part of the product page mentions water levels for mopping, generic text that does not apply here. No Pa figure or runtime is given, and it needs a 2.4 GHz network. It averages 4.2 out of 5 from 31,642 ratings.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • ClearView LiDAR maps the home and steers around obstacles, with cliff sensors for stairs, according to the listing.
  • 3-Stage Cleaning with a Multi-Surface brush and an Edge-Sweeping brush, claimed at 70X more suction than Roomba 600 series robots.
  • Recharges on its own and resumes where it left off.
  • Spot cleaning for up to 5 minutes, keep-out zones and schedules in the Roomba Home app.
Cons
  • No self-empty base: you empty the bin by hand.
  • Vacuum only, with no Pa figure or runtime given.
  • Works only on a 2.4 GHz network.

Best for: Budget buyers who want a LiDAR-mapping Roomba without paying for a dock.

Skip it if you want a self-emptying base or mopping.

Other specs
  • Connectivity2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Roomba Home app, Alexa, Siri, Google Assistant
Check price on Amazon
3 · Low-light obstacle avoidance

iRobot Roomba 105X

Robot vacuum4,2/5 from 26592 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

The 105X sits next to the 105 Vac as a vacuum-only Roomba without a self-emptying dock, and the listings of the two are close. What the 105X page adds is a claim that it avoids furniture and cords even in low light, along with filter-life tracking and Keep Out Zones in the app. ClearView LiDAR maps the home and cleans in neat rows instead of random paths, and the 3-stage system again pairs a Multi-Surface brush with an Edge-Sweeping brush. Suction is described as 70x power-lifting suction versus the Roomba 600 series, with no Pa figure. Runtime is not stated, a real omission if you were hoping to cover a large home on one charge. As on the 105 Vac, part of the product page mentions mopping water levels, generic text for a model that has no mop. It uses 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for setup. It averages 4.2 out of 5 across 26,592 ratings, the same score as the 105 Vac.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • ClearView LiDAR maps the home and cleans in neat rows instead of random paths.
  • 3-stage system with a Multi-Surface brush and an Edge-Sweeping brush.
  • Recharges and resumes automatically, with Keep Out Zones and filter-life tracking in the app.
  • Avoids furniture and cords even in low light, according to the listing.
Cons
  • No self-emptying dock and no mopping on this version.
  • Suction is only given as a multiple of the Roomba 600 series, and runtime is not stated.

Best for: Budget shoppers who want LiDAR mapping in a basic vacuum-only Roomba.

Skip it if you want self-emptying or mopping.

Other specs
  • ConnectivityRoomba Home app, voice assistants; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for setup
Check price on Amazon
4 · Self-emptying, no mopping

iRobot Roomba 105 Vac + AutoEmpty

Robot vacuum4/5 from 19252 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

This is the 105 Vac with the AutoEmpty dock in the box, and it is the right Roomba if you want to stop emptying bins but have little use for mopping. The dock holds debris in a bag for up to 75 days, the same interval as the three Combo models, and the bag is said to trap 99% of allergens as small as 0.7 microns. Cleaning hardware matches the rest of the 105 family: a Multi-Surface brush and an Edge-Sweeping brush, claimed at 70X more suction than Roomba 600 series robots, plus ClearView LiDAR with keep-out zones and room targeting. Spot cleaning repeats one area for up to 5 minutes. Some text on the product page refers to vacuuming and mopping, but this model only vacuums. You give up the mop pad of the 105 Combo and the 104 Combo, and you still buy dock bags. No Pa figure or runtime is given, and it needs a 2.4 GHz network. It averages 4 out of 5 from 19,252 ratings.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • Empties into a bagged AutoEmpty dock for up to 75 days; the bag traps 99% of allergens as small as 0.7 microns, according to the listing.
  • 3-Stage Cleaning with a Multi-Surface brush and an Edge-Sweeping brush, claimed at 70X more suction than Roomba 600 series robots.
  • ClearView LiDAR mapping, keep-out zones and room targeting in the Roomba Home app.
  • Spot cleaning repeats one area for up to 5 minutes.
Cons
  • Vacuum only: no mopping.
  • Dock bags are a consumable, and no Pa figure or runtime is given.
  • Works only on a 2.4 GHz network.

Best for: Busy households that want a LiDAR Roomba that empties itself and needs little attention.

Skip it if you also want mopping or prefer a bagless self-empty base.

Other specs
  • Bag / binBagged dock
  • Connectivity2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Roomba Home app, Alexa, Siri, Google Assistant
Check price on Amazon
5 · Combo with carpet detection

iRobot Roomba 105X Combo + AutoEmpty

Robot vacuum4,1/5 from 13308 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

The 105X Combo + AutoEmpty brings the X version into the self-emptying, mopping part of the lineup. The AutoEmpty dock collects debris in a sealed bag for up to 75 days, and the robot vacuums and mops in one run, with a SmartScrub micro-pump keeping the microfiber pad evenly moist. It detects carpet and skips it while mopping, with no mode switching required; the listing is clear that rugs are skipped rather than vacuumed in the same pass, since the pad does not lift. ClearView LiDAR handles mapping, keep-out zones and room targeting. Next to the 105 Combo it offers little extra on paper, and its rating is lower: 4.1 out of 5 from 13,308 ratings. That count is identical to the 104 Combo, which suggests pooled reviews. The dock does not wash the pad, bags are a consumable, and suction has no Pa figure. iRobot's own comparison table points this model to another listing, so check the product page carefully.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • The AutoEmpty dock collects debris in a sealed bag for up to 75 days.
  • Vacuums and mops in one run, with a micro-pump keeping the microfiber pad evenly moist (SmartScrub).
  • ClearView LiDAR mapping with keep-out zones and room targeting in the app.
  • Detects carpet and skips it while mopping, with no mode switching required.
Cons
  • The mop pad is not lifted: rugs are skipped while mopping rather than vacuumed in the same pass.
  • The dock does not wash or dry the pad, and replacement bags are a consumable.
  • No Pa suction figure or runtime is stated.

Best for: Budget shoppers who want a self-emptying Roomba with light mopping.

Skip it if you want a dock that washes the mop or a robot that mops and vacuums rugs in one run.

Other specs
  • Bag / binSealed bag, up to 75 days; traps 99% of allergens (0.7 microns)
  • Mop liftingNo lift; detects carpet and avoids mopping it
  • ConnectivityRoomba Home app, Alexa, Siri, Google Assistant; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
Check price on Amazon
6 · Alternative to the 105 Combo

iRobot Roomba 104 Combo + AutoEmpty

Robot vacuum4,1/5 from 13308 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

The 104 Combo + AutoEmpty is the only model here from the 104 family, and its listing reads much like the 105 Combo. The dock empties into a bag for up to 75 days, with the same claim that the bag traps 99% of allergens as small as 0.7 microns. ClearView LiDAR maps the home, the robot detects and avoids carpets while mopping, and the app offers vacuum only, mop only or combo modes with adjustable passes, suction and mopping solution. SmartScrub is claimed to add 2x deeper scrubbing on hard floors. The listing does not mention the extra mop pad that comes with the 105 Combo. Suction is given only as 70X versus older Roombas, with no Pa figure and no runtime, the pad neither lifts nor gets washed, and bags must be rebought. Its 4.1 out of 5 average rests on 13,308 ratings, the same count as the 105X Combo, so reviews are likely shared between the two listings.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • Empties into a bagged AutoEmpty dock for up to 75 days; the bag traps 99% of allergens as small as 0.7 microns, according to the listing.
  • ClearView LiDAR maps the home, and it detects and avoids carpets while mopping.
  • Vac only, mop only or combo modes, with adjustable passes, suction and mopping solution in the app.
  • SmartScrub adds 2x deeper scrubbing on hard floors.
Cons
  • Dock bags are a consumable to replace.
  • The pad does not lift and is not washed by the dock.
  • Suction is given only as 70X versus older Roombas; no Pa or runtime.

Best for: Budget buyers who want LiDAR mapping, light mopping and a self-emptying dock in one box.

Skip it if you want a mop that lifts over rugs, a self-washing station or a bagless dock.

Other specs
  • Bag / binBagged dock
  • Connectivity2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Roomba Home app, voice assistants
Check price on Amazon

How to choose the right Roomba

All six share the same navigation

Navigation will not separate these Roombas, since every model in the lineup uses ClearView LiDAR. That means each one maps your home, cleans in rows and supports keep-out zones and room targeting in the Roomba Home app. The 105X listing adds a claim about avoiding furniture and cords in low light, and the 105 Vac lists cliff sensors for stairs. Because the base technology is the same, your choice comes down to the dock and whether you want a mop, not to which robot finds its way around better.

AutoEmpty dock or charging dock

The dock is the biggest difference in the lineup and the first choice to make. Four models come with an AutoEmpty dock that holds debris in a bag for up to 75 days: the 105 Combo, 105 Vac + AutoEmpty, 105X Combo and 104 Combo. The 105 Vac and 105X ship with a charging dock only, so you empty the bin by hand after runs. If you have pets or a busy schedule, the AutoEmpty dock is worth it; in a small apartment cleaned twice a week, a charging dock may be enough.

Combo models mop lightly

The Roomba Combo models mop, but treat their mopping as a light wipe rather than a scrub. The 105 Combo, 105X Combo and 104 Combo use a microfiber pad moistened by a micro-pump, with SmartScrub claimed to add 2x deeper scrubbing. They detect carpet and avoid it while mopping, yet the pad does not lift, and no Roomba dock here washes or dries it, so you rinse the pad yourself. If you want a station that cleans the mop for you, our mop combo guide covers models with washing docks.

Suction is described, not measured

None of these Roomba listings gives suction in Pa, so you cannot compare them with other brands on that number. iRobot describes the 105 family as having 70X more power-lifting suction than Roomba 600 series robots, a comparison with older Roombas only. All six use a Multi-Surface brush and an Edge-Sweeping brush. Since the cleaning hardware looks the same across the lineup on paper, suction is not a reason to pick one Roomba over another here; dock and mop are.

Plan for bags and a 2.4 GHz network

Before ordering, check two practical points that apply to most of the lineup. First, every AutoEmpty dock uses disposable bags, which are a recurring purchase; there is no bagless Roomba on this page. Second, the listings say these robots work on, or set up over, a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network. If your router broadcasts only 5 GHz, or merges bands under one name, you may need to adjust its settings. The app also adds voice control through Alexa, Siri or Google Assistant.

Read the listing details carefully

Several Roomba product pages carry generic text, so confirm the exact model before you buy. The 105 Vac, 105X and 105 Vac + AutoEmpty listings include passages about mopping or water levels even though those models only vacuum. iRobot's comparison table links the 105X Combo + AutoEmpty to a different listing than the one we found. Review counts are shared too: the 104 Combo and 105X Combo show the identical total. Check the title, the box contents and the dock pictured before adding to cart.

Skip it if…

  • you want a dock that washes and dries the mop pad, which no Roomba on this page offers.
  • you dislike buying bags, since every Roomba AutoEmpty dock here is bagged.
  • you need a published runtime to plan for a large home, because none of the six listings states one.
  • you have many rugs and want the robot to mop and vacuum them in the same run, as the pad does not lift.

FAQ

What is the best Roomba right now?

The Roomba 105 Combo + AutoEmpty is our pick among the six models listed on Amazon.com. It combines ClearView LiDAR, a microfiber mop pad and a bagged dock rated for up to 75 days, and its 4.4 out of 5 average from 49,377 ratings is the highest in the lineup. If you never mop, the 105 Vac + AutoEmpty is the vacuum-only alternative.

What is the difference between the Roomba 105 Vac and 105 Combo?

The 105 Combo mops and the 105 Vac does not. Both use ClearView LiDAR and the same brush setup. The 105 Combo listed here also includes an AutoEmpty dock rated for up to 75 days, while the plain 105 Vac comes with a charging dock only, so you empty its bin by hand. A 105 Vac + AutoEmpty version adds the dock without the mop.

Which Roomba is best for pet hair?

For pet hair, pick a Roomba with an AutoEmpty dock, such as the 105 Combo or the 105 Vac + AutoEmpty. Fur fills a robot bin fast, and the dock holds debris for up to 75 days according to the listings. None of these Roomba listings describes a specific anti-tangle brush, so see our pet hair guide for models that do.

Do Roomba AutoEmpty docks use bags?

Yes. Every AutoEmpty dock in the current lineup collects debris in a disposable bag, which iRobot says traps 99% of allergens as small as 0.7 microns. The bag is rated for up to 75 days before replacement, depending on your home. Replacement bags are a recurring purchase; no bagless Roomba dock appears among the models on this page.

Is the best Roomba good at mopping?

It handles light mopping, not deep cleaning. The Combo models use a microfiber pad moistened by a micro-pump, and SmartScrub is claimed to add 2x deeper scrubbing. The pad does not lift on carpet, and the dock does not wash or dry it, so you rinse it by hand. Homes with lots of hard floor may prefer a model with a washing station.

Does a Roomba work with 5 GHz Wi-Fi?

The listings for these Roombas say they work on, or set up over, a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network. If your router only broadcasts 5 GHz, you will need to enable a 2.4 GHz band. Routers that merge both bands under one network name can sometimes complicate setup, so check your router settings before you start.

Ilias, Robocompas
Models are picked from the product listings on Amazon.com, recorded and dated. Missing data is flagged instead of guessed, and no hands-on test is described unless it actually happened. Our method

See also

Our pick
iRobot Roomba 105 Combo + AutoEmpty
Check price